## **Derivation of drug-specific parameters of equation (4)**

.

According to Dixit and Perelson (2004), the single-dose version of equation (4) can be expressed as follows

$$C_b(t) = \frac{FDk_a}{V_d(k_e - k_a)} [e^{-k_a t} - e^{-k_e t}].$$
(S1)

The well-known drug-specific parameters  $C_{max}$  (maximum concentration of a drug in the blood) AUC (area under the concentration-time curve) and  $t_{max}$  (when  $C_{max}$  occurs) can be derived from equation (S1) as

$$C_{max} = \frac{FD}{V_d} \left(\frac{k_e}{k_a}\right)^{\frac{\kappa_e}{k_e - k_a}},\tag{S2}$$

$$AUC = \int_0^\infty C_b(t)dt = \frac{FD}{V_d k_e},$$
(S3)

$$t_{max} = \frac{ln(\frac{k_e}{k_a})}{k_a - k_e}.$$
(S4)

 $C_{max}$ , AUC and  $t_{max}$  values are available for all NRTI drugs, and estimation of the pharmacokinetic parameters  $k_a$  and  $k_e$  can be done by solving equations (S2)-(S4) in the least-squares sense. In this way, we have evaluated  $k_a$  and  $k_e$  values of all drugs with the use of experimental  $C_{max}$ , AUC and  $t_{max}$  presented in Supplementary Table S1 with their references.